Home > Blog: Currents & Futures > Synopsis of the Series: “The Metamorphosis of Humanity”

Purchase the PRINT VERSION!          Purchase the DIGITAL VERSION!


Book One: The Chronicles of the Upheavals (2015-2035)

Book Two:  The Chronicles of the Awakening (2055-2085)

Book Three:  The Chronicles of the Metamorphosis  (2085-2120)



A Synopsis of the Series: “The Metamorphosis of Humanity”

We made it.  But, how?

It’s the year 2125, and the human world has had its mega-crises.  The history of the 21st  Century was dominated by “The Upheavals”: every crisis that threatened humanity happened.  Just about everything that could go wrong, did.  All Western systems fail – ecological, social, political, economic… and they all fail around the same time, one failure triggering another.  

“The Upheavals” took a heavy toll… billions of humans perished in the human-caused cataclysms.  Some of the failures were predictable: food supplies go critical; energy production fails; water supplies dry up; ecological devastation renders whole cities uninhabitable; the failures trigger urban chaos and rebellion; pandemics reap a worldwide toll in the hundreds of millions; proposed “techno-fixes” made things much worse.

Then there were the crises more difficult to see: the loss of much of humanity’s accumulated knowledge, as cyber-wars decimated digital information systems.  Humanity losing touch with itself, as news organizations go belly-up around the world.  The already astronomical suicide rate going further through the roof, as people fail to come to grips with the failure of their future.

Despite the Upheavals, humanity made it.  From the excess of waste, the shock of dysfunction and the fog of denial, humanity moved into new ways of working with each other and working with the Earth.  (Actually, a lot of old ways…)  

Some of those new ways are deeply fulfilling.  Humanity will need some time to get used to the changes.  And some of the new ways are… unsettling.

Humanity makes it, because of the visionary work of the Awakening Movement, catalyzed by the mysterious “Culture Council”.  What for some was “The End” was really “The Transformation”.  That transformation happened because the Culture Council, dedicated to the vision of “A World for All”, managed the multiple crises into a rebirth for humanity.  They did so by creating “Awakening Centers”  — lifeboats for the refugees of the global Titanic.

Now that they are out of the woods, the Culture Council organizes what records it has into a narrative of the Upheavals, a history of the 21st Century.  They gather what’s available: surviving recordings, transcripts, newspaper clippings, book excerpts, leaflets, advertisements… the Chronicles of the times.

Each chapter of the series tells a story and also reveals a value or challenge that all of humanity faced during the transformation. 

Book One Synopsis:  “The Chronicles of the Upheavals” [2015-2035]

[100% complete.  Approximately 100,000 words]

After an Introduction from 2125 by the Culture Council, the “Upheavals” starts at 2025, with the rescue of a street kid and his learning of the ways and values of one Awakening Center.  Through his interactions with his fellow novices and his superiors, he learns to accept the mission of the Awakening Centers in providing a realistic pathway through the Upheavals. Through this young novice (with an old attitude and a new name), we learn how the brave new world of the 21st Century takes shape.

[For the complete synopsis of Book One, click here:]

Book Two Synopsis: “The Chronicles of the Awakening” [2055-2085]  

[30% complete]

“Awakening” continues the saga started by “The Chronicles of the Upheavals”.  While “Upheavals” focused on North America (hardest hit by the Upheavals), Book Two, “The Chronicles of the Awakening” delves into how the Upheavals have affected other peoples and continents, focusing on Europe, Africa and Asia. 

The Upheavals were particularly devastating for North America, because so many people there were “future-starved” – unable to envision a world beyond their status quo.  Even when faced with clear alternatives, people still embraced denial, scapegoating and status-quoism.  

“Awakening” explores how other continents fared differently from North America.  Other nations had less to lose and more to gain by changing as much as possible, as soon as possible.  These changes led to the development of the “human hives”, or “Unity”… a completely new way for people to live.  

Highlights of “Awakening” include:

  • A Western techno-attempt to mitigate the effects of climate change goes disastrously wrong.
  • The Awakening Centers try to come to grips with their very different “cousins” in the “hives” of Europe.  Friends and collaborators? Enemies?  Or something else?
  • Radical biological transformations among both the Unity “hives” and the “new children” being born in the Awakening Centers calls into question the very definition of “human”.
  • The Awakening Centers and Unity enter a showdown with “The Edge”… with some unforeseen consequences.

And, there are still plenty of gun-toting paramilitaries, brain-dead politicians, religious crazies, druggies, warlords, fundamentalists, survivalists, refugees…  


Book Three Synopsis:  “The Chronicles of the Metamorphosis”  [2085-2125]

[20% complete]

“Metamorphosis” sees the culmination of a century of devastating upheavals and radical transformations.

Humanity now has three presentations, three “branches”:  

  • The Solons (or “Old-Style Humans”), still maintaining individualized consciousness.  
  • The Holons, centered in the Awakening Centers, exploring blended consciousness (the holonic mind) and masters of the “Awakened Powers”, and
  • The Hives of Unity, explorers of unity or fused consciousness, with powers that are difficult to comprehend.  They are centered… elsewhere.

How those three branches interact will set the pathway for humanity for the next 1,000 years or more.

In “Metamorphosis” all story threads are resolved.  The ultimate purposes for Unity, the Awakening Centers and the “new children” are revealed and resolved.  All “opposition” turns into a new and very dynamic equilibrium.  

And, the reader finally learns what happened to Dr. Moore and the Imaginal Group, way back in Book One.

2 Comments, RSS

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *